Classic Schnitzel with Butternut Squash Puree

Well Happy Sunday!! October has finally arrived. Its seems where ever I go the smacky sound of flip-flops on the ground has been replaced with clicky clacky heeled boots! This season brings a few of my Fave things:

1.) Warm infinity scarves (I can never tie a normal scarf the right way I give up!)

2.) The color Camel. (LOL YES. My Fall 2016 purchases have all included this color somewhere!)

3.) Over-sized boyfriend shirts. (I cannot get enough!!!)

4.) The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown (We will watch this about 48 times in the next 2 weeks)

5.) Fall Fires. (Perfect smores and no more mosquitos!)

6.) Warm Leggings. ( Y-E-S).

1

My baby sister had gotten me back in the saddle this past two weeks. Oh how I have forgotten how glorious it is to go horseback riding! I grew up with horses but it has been around 15 years since I have been riding (minus a quick weekend get-a-way a few years ago to the Tennessee trails <My husband has erased from his memory>)

I am leasing (cool huh?!) a beautiful Tennessee Walker named Summer and we are Ying and Yang! If I miss a few days posting NOW you’ll now it’s because I am out in God’s beautiful country trail riding.

This week I finally conquered a favorite classic German meal SCHNITZEL. My husband has a super simple recipe so this will work well for any busy family! It’s just perfection. Schnitzel means thin breaded pork chops.

I made a scrumptious Butternut Squash Puree as a side and its was gobbled up quicker than you can say snuggie. Which reminds me that I need to get mine out…

I hope you enjoy this and if you do it right- You’ll be eating around the T.V watching The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown in your coziest leggings and oversized shirt, near a fire next to your snuggie covered hubby..

final2

Thanks for stopping by!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

(I tossed a printable recipe below!)

XO,

The Guiding Spoon

Classic Scnitzel with Butternut Squash Puree

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

By: The Guiding Spoon

Ingredients

  • lean pork chops (4)
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 4 oz bread crumbs
  • olive Oil for cooking
  • salt and Pepper to taste

Butternut Squash Puree

  • 1 large butternut squash (peeled, halved and cubed)
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Peel butternut squash, half and cube. Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, drizzle with olive oil and bake at 350 degrees 30-45 minutes (or until tender enough when poked with a fork)
  2. Line your prep station with plastic wrap or parchment paper and place a pork chop in the center covering it with plastic wrap or parchment paper. Using a glass cup or a meat mallet flatten pork chop until it is 1/4 inch thick. Do same process for all pork chops.
  3. Finish your puree first before cooking Schnitzel so all food stays hot!
  4. Once butternut squash is cooked, add to a blender along with honey and butter. Mix until smooth and blended.
  5. Add bread crumbs to a large bowl, eggs to a medium bowl and a clean plate for breaded schnitzel. Press pork chop into flour, then into egg and press both sides in crumbs and place on plate. Salt and Pepper as desired.
  6. Heat skillet on medium heat with olive oil and once hot, cook each pork chop for 4-5 minutes on each side until golden brown.
  7. Enjoy!

  1. Corn, peas and green beans are also great additions to this meal!

 

Published by

Leave a Reply

